New Spam Email going around
There is a new phishing email that is making the rounds. It has hit some users on my domain and looks very legit. Below is an example of the email. It is made to look like it is coming from support@mydomain.com or automailer@mydomain.com so that users will believe it is real. Make sure you inform your users that these are not real and not to click on the link or download anything. I am still working on how to remove or block this from further happening. I will post up when I have more info.
Update :
I have found that Spam Bully works really well.. check out the link below.
I have changed my real domain name to “mydomain.com” for security reasons. I have also removed the hyperlinks.
From: automailer@mydomain.com [mailto:automailer@mydomain.com]
Sent: Wednesday, October 14, 2009 3:01 PM
To: Chris Dyslin
Subject: For the owner of the chrisd@mydomain.com mailbox
Dear user of the mydomain.com mailing service!
We are informing you that because of the security upgrade of the mailing service your mailbox (chrisd@mydomain.com) settings were changed. In order to apply the new set of settings click on the following link:
http://mydomain.com/owa/service_directory/settings.php?email=chrisd@mydomain.com&from=mydomain.com&fromname=chrisd
Best regards, mydomain.com Technical Support.
Tagged with: e are informing you that because of the security upgrade • In order to apply the new set of settings click on the following link: • security upgrade of the mailing service • settings were changed
Filed under: Tech News
Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!
Leave a Reply